CAS/AES annual awards ceremony elevates employee, student service and impact

The College of Agricultural Sciences and Agricultural Experiment Station rolled out the Aggie orange carpet on Wednesday, April 19, to celebrate the college’s annual awards ceremony. The annual event honors the outstanding achievements of faculty, staff and students and elevates the impact their work has on agriculture. 

For the second year, the ceremony was hosted in the Bernard Rollin Knowledge Well of the Nutrien Agricultural Sciences Building on campus in Fort Collins. Virtual attendees also tuned in from around the state as Dean James Prichett and Assistant Deans Matt Camper and Addy Elliott shared emcee duties. 

Nutrien Distinguished Scholar of Agricultural Sciences 

As part of Nutrien’s investment in advancing the College of Agricultural Sciences’ strategic plan, the Nutrien Distinguished Scholar of Agricultural Sciences award recognizes a faculty member who demonstrates excellence in teaching, research and engagement, and has had a significant impact on their field. 

Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics faculty member Andrew Seidl excels in all three areas of the CSU land grant mission, and his engaged scholarship stands out as his largest contribution locally, to Colorado, and for the world. Seidl plays an important teaching role for DARE, CSU and beyond – including multiple international pedagogy and teaching experiences in Central America, Europe, Asia and work with United Nations. He has taught both graduate and undergraduate courses in the Warner College of Natural Resources, the College of Business, and the College of Agricultural Sciences. In addition, Andy has mentored dozens of graduate students and continually invests in his own professional development and instruction, including work to advance his own knowledge and application of diversity, equity and inclusion practices in the classroom. 

Graduate Student showcase winners 

Outstanding research posters from the college’s first Graduate Student Research Showcase, held on April 3. 

Top College Honors 

  • Ariel Lepard  
  • Carl VanGessel  
  • Julie Fowler  

Soil and Crop Sciences 

  • Jessica Callen  
  • Kaela Amundson   
  • Sam Leuthold  

Horticulture and Landscape Architecture 

  • Brandon Sandoval  
  • Rachel McDowell   
  • Thomas Hickey 

Agricultural and Resource Economics 

  • Brooke Fitzgerald  
  • Pratyoosh Kashyap  
  • Sam Bryan  

Animal Sciences 

  •  Ashley Schilling  
  • Ines Mesa  
  • Victoria Nieciecki  

Agricultural Biology 

  • Jordan Withycombe  
  • Laine Hackenberg  
  • Max Schmidtbauer  

Charles N. Shepardson Award Recipients 

Graduate Student Teaching Award 

A current graduate student who has demonstrated excellence in the classroom during the past academic year teaching agriculture-related courses.  

  • M.S. – Allisa Linfield, Department of Horticulture and Landscape Architecture 
  • M.S. – Paxton Sullivan, Department of Animal Sciences 
  • Ph.D. – Mackenzie Gill, Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics 

Faculty Teaching Award <10 Years Experience at CSU 

A current faculty member, with under 10 years teaching experience at CSU, who has demonstrated excellence in classroom teaching of agriculture-related courses at CSU within the past academic year.  

  • Tori Anderson, Department of Soil and Crop Sciences 
  • Daniel Mooney, Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics 

North American College and Teachers of Agriculture (NACTA)/Meritorious Teaching Award 

  • Tamla Blunt (Ag Bio) 

Charles N. Shepardson Student Leadership Award 

A current CAS undergraduate with senior standing who has demonstrated outstanding leadership ability during their undergraduate career through employment, activities, and organizations within the college and throughout the university related to agricultural sciences and has maintained a minimum 3.00 cumulative GPA.  

  • Garrett Fong, Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics 
  • Leah McGill, Department of Agricultural Biology 

CAS and AES Awards 

Excellence in Collaborative Research Award 

A team that demonstrates a record of collaborative, interdisciplinary research and scholarly activities that have contributed to the advancement of science and achieved a positive impact on end users. 

  • Catie Cramer, Lily Edwards-Callaway and Noa Roman-Muniz 

Outstanding Contributions to Student Success Award 

Faculty and staff who have demonstrated a commitment to and impact on students’ lives within the college (undergraduate and graduate) through their advising, mentoring, guidance, and support.   

  • Chris Amerman – Department of Agricultural Biology, Department of Soil and Crop Sciences  
  • Kayla Dwyer – Department of Animal Sciences 
  • Esmeralda Garfio – Department of Animal Sciences  

Outstanding Contributions to Research and Scholarship Award  

Faculty, research associates, staff and graduate students, both campus-based and research center-based, who contribute towards ongoing CAS research projects and make significant impact on research outcomes. 

  • Kevin Larson (AES) 
  • Timothy C. Martin (SCS) 

Outstanding Emerging Community Engagement Scholarship Award 

A new initiative (less than three years) that has shown potential for long-term impact, achievement, and scholarship. 

  • Beef Sticks for Backpacks, Bob Delmore – Animal Sciences 
  • Jenny Bennett, Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics  

Outstanding Staff Award 

CAS/AES staff – including administrative professional employees, state classified employees, and post-doctoral fellows – who have demonstrated exceptional performance and a commitment to the success of CAS/AES through their service and support.  

  • Paula White, Ag Business Center  

Come to the Table Inclusive Excellence Award 

A person who has demonstrated outstanding commitment and/or contributions to improving the inclusiveness and diversity of the College of Agricultural Sciences and our mission through their inclusive programming and/or leadership and demonstration of CSU’s Principles of Community.  

  • Robyn Roberts, Department of Agricultural Biology 

Lee Sommers Agricultural Sciences Distinguished Career Award 

A senior faculty member in the College of Agricultural Sciences with a long and distinguished career based on excellence in teaching, research, and/or outreach.  

  • Jessica Davis, Agricultural Experiment Station