James Pritchett named interim dean of College of Agricultural Sciences

James Pritchett portrait
James Pritchett

James Pritchett has been named interim dean of the Colorado State University College of Agricultural Sciences. Currently executive associate dean for the college, he will assume his new position on Oct. 1, when Ajay Menon becomes president and CEO of the CSU Research Foundation.

“This is an exciting time for agriculture, both in the industry and education,” Pritchett said. “We’ve many exciting opportunities ahead of us, from feeding the world’s rapidly growing population to stewarding a safe food supply and a sustainable environment. It’s a great time to work with producers, consumers, students and industry in meeting the needs of this and future generations.”

In addition to the global challenges, Pritchett will be responsible for many significant projects at CSU. Shepardson Hall, the home of the College of Ag for over 80 years, is undergoing a renovation that will not only double its size but also provide students and researchers modern classroom and lab spaces. The college is also a major partner in the redevelopment of the National Western Complex in Denver, which will break ground next year.

“James is passionate about every aspect of agriculture and CSU,” said Provost Rick Miranda. “I am confident that he will provide excellent guidance to the college during this important time of change and growth, and I look forward to him joining the university’s executive leadership team.”

A national search for a permanent dean will begin shortly, Miranda added.

Originally from southeastern Colorado, Pritchett earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in agricultural economics from CSU, and his Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota. He joined the College of Agricultural Sciences faculty in 2001, with extensive teaching, research and engagement responsibilities. He has served CSU in many leadership roles including Assistant Vice President for Engagement and Executive Associate Dean for the College of Agricultural Sciences.