Roman-Muniz Honored as 2022 Best Teacher

Noa Roman-Muniz, associate professor and director of undergraduate programs in the Department of Animal Sciences, was recognized this week as a 2022 Best Teacher Award recipient. Each year, the CSU Alumni Association honors teachers who are nominated by students, faculty and alumni for their inspiration and impact. Roman-Muniz was honored alongside five other CSU faculty at an awards banquet on March 30.

Inclusive learning and mentorship

Roman-Muniz grew up in Puerto Rico and earned her M.S. in clinical sciences from CSU in 2004. She began teaching at CSU in 2008, served as the Extension dairy specialist for 11 years, and, in 2019, she was named the director of undergraduate programs for the department. She currently oversees the curricula for animal and equine sciences programs and supervises academic advising for more than 700 undergraduate students. She believes in creating inclusive learning spaces where students are encouraged to ask why, foster their curiosity, and develop their passions. Her research, teaching, and outreach activities are focused on the intersection of human and animal health and productivity on dairy operations. Throughout her time as an educator, she has enjoyed developing and facilitating educational opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students, as well as livestock caretakers and farm supervisors.

“Dr. Noa does everything to the fullest, working her hardest to support her students and set them up for success. As a Puerto Rican woman, she is someone I see myself in and has become my role model. She is extremely smart and compassionate, and I strive to be more like her every day.”

          – Miranda Zuvich, student (’22)

Past recipients

Since the award began in 1996, 14 College of Agricultural Sciences faculty members have been honored as Best Teachers.

  • 1996 – Sarah Ward, Soil and Crop Sciences
  • 1997- Howard Stonaker, Animal Sciences
  • 1999 – Donald Lubecker, Agricultural and Resource Economics
  • 2000 – Thomas Field, Animal Sciences
  • 2000 – Rajinder Ranu, Bioagricultural Sciences and Pest Management
  • 2001 – Grant Reid, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture
  • 2002 – John Matsushima, Animal Sciences,
  • 2006 – Whitney Cranshaw, Bioagricultural Sciences and Pest Management
  • 2012 – Brett Kaysen, Animal Sciences
  • 2013 – Jane Choi, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture
  • 2016 – Temple Grandin, Animal Sciences
  • 2017 – Matt Camper, Bioagricultural Sciences and Pest Management
  • 2018 – James Klett, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture
  • 2020 – Mark Uchanski, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture